The Official List (Hospital Bag Edition)

Last month I wrote a bit about my experience staying at the hospital after E. was born and some of the stuff I really, really wished I had with me. After much thought and some actual packing (and having to dig out my HUGE suitcase that has

been living at my parents for the last six or so years), I’ve got the list. 

Now, keep in mind, I am the ultimate over packer. I really dislike being without, and, if for whatever reason, I’m stuck at the hospital for more than a couple of days, I’m going to be very grumpy if I don’t have everything I think I’ll need. That said, should I not use even half of what I pack, that’s totally okay with me. 

So, here’s the list: 

Wallet

Cell/Charger

Blackberry/Charger

Nook/Charger

Deodorant (buy travel size)

Toothbrush (buy spare)

Toothpaste  (buy travel size)

Brush

Makeup

Lip balm

Hair elastics

Hair clip

Shampoo/conditioner (buy travel size)

Ratty t-shirt for labor

Bathing suit top for labor in tub/shower

Bathrobe

Jammies

  • Night gown
  • Pants and top
  • More pants and top

Pair of socks

Nursing bra

Roomy underwear

Snacks

Pillow with pillowcase

Notepad (buy)

Pen/Pencil

Going home outfit

  • Black sweats or yoga pants
  • Comfortable top

Shampoo/body wash for Mike

Jammies for Mike

Swim trunks for Mike

Changes of clothes for Mike

  • Two pairs of pants
  • Three shirts
  • Three pairs of underwear
  • Socks

Sleep sacks for baby x3

Going home outfit for baby

Receiving blanket

Boppy pillow

Nursing cover

Cloth diapers

Nipple cream

Doula gift(s) (gift card/certificates to Beth’s Kitchen and something else…)

(I apologize for the weirdo formatting – this is what happens when you copy and past from Word, apparently.) So that’s all of it. The clothes take up the most space, but I wanted to have something clean to change into each day, especially if I end up having another c-section. I also wanted the hubs to have access to come clean and comfy clothes, too, since he’ll be hanging around the hospital with me and sleeping there as well. 

And, despite the apparent simplicity of it, I did put a lot of thought into that going home outfit for me. I wanted something basic, but also not totally schleppy looking. I’m obviously not going to try to look like a movie star, but I want to feel put together as well as comfortable. 

I found when putting this list together that there were a lot of little things and a lot of stuff I didn’t just have on hand, particularly the travel size stuff. As I’ve packed my bag I’ve added things slowly over the last couple of weeks. I just bought, for example, the travel size shampoo/conditioner and deodorant during our last trip to Target. I had to set aside just the right kind of undies each time I did laundry. And I haven’t even come close to packing the electronics, and those likely won’t go into the hospital bag until we’re ready to go. It’s definitely not a trip you can pack for all at one time! 

And, a note on snacks. I’ll be honest, I haven’t even asked my OB or the hospital when we did our tour last week about their policy regarding eating during labor. I plan on feigning (sort of) ignorance. Because, I will eat. And what did I choose for snacks? So far, I grabbed three different of granola bars and a box of pineapple popsicles when I went grocery shopping last week. I may add to my small collection when I grocery shopping next Friday, but I’m actually pretty happy with what I have for now. The granola bars, I think, will be good early on in labor, when I will want something more substantial and the popsicles will be nice when labor is more intense and I might want something more filling than water, but still light. 

What’s going (or has gone) in your hospital bag? 

4 thoughts on “The Official List (Hospital Bag Edition)

  1. This is great, thanks for posting! I would definitely go for unscented deodorant. When I had my daughter in the hospital, after I showered I put on my husband’s deodorant, (very strong smelling stuff), and my baby immediately moved away from me so fast and looked up at my face with the funniest expression like, “who are you and why do you smell so bad!” It was so funny but I felt so bad I had to wash the rest of the deodorant off!

    • Ha ha! Yeah, I still hardly wear perfume to this day because I never wanted to cover my “mommy smell” or smell too harsh to my daughter, but I love all my perfume too! And we have the rest of our lives to wear it, our kids won’t care for too long 🙂

  2. Great list!!! VERY similar to mine with Harper…now I’m having to revisit that with our second! One thing I would add if this were my list would be some scented pads with wings since the ones they gave me at the hospital didn’t have wings! And they were sort of the size of a submarine sandwich so maybe I could find a sleeker design with the same absorption power and not the bulk!

Leave a Reply

