Week 36

Week 36 (January 11 – 18) 

Estimated Due Date: February 8th, 2013

Symptoms: I’ve been getting really crampy, as well as have more Braxton Hicks. Also, breast tenderness has resurfaced.

Body Changes: Achey hips and pelvis, and my baby belly has dropped 

Cravings: Peanut butter and chocolate, for a change

High Point:  We got the co-sleeper this weekend! I was so, so, so excited! We have it all set up next to the bed and E. has had great fun putting her baby doll to bed inside of it. I can’t wait until it’s filled with our real baby and not dolls, books, and electronics. 

Low Point: Some of my pregnancy paranoia has sufficiently subsided this week, so I’ve been feeling emotionally all right. Physically, however, I’m starting to really feel worn down. The baby is so low in my pelvis I can feel a lot of pressure from his big ol’ noggin. I felt really lousy on Tuesday (lots of headaches and heavy headedness along with crampy, though fairly mild contractions). I ended up going in to see my OB and having a non-stress test and exam. While everything looked good baby-wise, my OB said I was definitely having consistent contractions, but they weren’t strong enough to make anything happen (which is fine, because it’s not quite time yet for the babe to make his appearance). And when I had my exam I was not quite a centimeter dilated and my cervix was becoming soft and stretchy. All good stuff (and sorry if this is a bit TMI). My OB said she was leaning towards thinking I’d likely go on my own and quite possibly have the come out the “old fashioned way”. So, so good to hear. 

What I did to prepare this week: Got that co-sleeper! I pestered and pestered and pestered the hubs to go to the big city with me to hit up Babies ‘R’ Us, and he finally agreed to go, even though he was feeling completely miserable. This is the one we got. We also picked up a the starter set of these bottles at Target. I’d like to get one more package (I have a set of 5 oz. bottles and I’d like another set of the 9 oz.), but that can go on the back burner until after the babe shows up.

Paranoid Moment: Feeling much better this week. 

What’s going on “in there”: The folks at BabyCenter say:

“Your baby is still packing on the pounds — at the rate of about an ounce a day. She now weighs almost 6 pounds (like a crenshaw melon) and is more than 18 1/2 inches long. She’s shedding most of the downy covering of hair that covered her body as well as the vernix caseosa, the waxy substance that covered and protected her skin during her nine-month amniotic bath. Your baby swallows both of these substances, along with other secretions, resulting in a blackish mixture, called meconium, will form the contents of her first bowel movement.

At the end of this week, your baby will be considered full-term. (Full-term is 37 to 42 weeks; babies born before 37 weeks are pre-term and those born after 42 are post-term.) Most likely she’s in a head-down position. But if she isn’t, your practitioner may suggest scheduling an “external cephalic version,” which is a fancy way of saying she’ll try to coax your baby into a head-down position by manipulating her from the outside of your belly.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

